The Colgate Scene
July 2008


Goalie Tim Harrington '10 makes a point-blank save. Harrington made 18 saves against the Irish [Photos by Debbie Monastero]

Chris Eck '08 digs out a groundball on the soggy field against Notre Dame in the men's lacrosse team's first-ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Raiders lost in an 8-7 overtime heartbreaker in the opening round game.

Topping the spring sports schedule was the men's and women's lacrosse teams' participation in the NCAA Tournaments. The women's team made its third appearance in five years, while the men's team earned its first appearance ever. The men's team lost an 8-7 overtime heartbreaker to Notre Dame in the opening round, while the women's team was eliminated by Penn, the top-ranked squad in the nation, 16-7. Brandon Corp '09 was named the Patriot League's Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight season. He was joined on the first-team all-league squad by Matt Lalli '08 and Chris Eck '08, while Ian Murphy '10 and Kevin Colleluori '09 were second team selections. In women's lacrosse, Brie Moran '10, Jessica Van der Meulen '08, and Molly Carroll '09 were first-team all-Patriot League, while Colleen Bubnack '11 and Maddie Kearns '09 were second team.

Other spring athletes honored by the Patriot League were Ricky Hayes '08 (golf); Elise DeRose '10 and Samantha Inacker '10 (women's tennis); Martin MacIntyre '09, Player of the Year (men's tennis); Meredith Remmer '09 and Vicky Hulit '10 (rowing); Whitney Scott '08, LaPorscha Albert '08, Ashley Rowe '09, and Tiana Tyeskey '09 (softball); and Andy Holway '08, Andrew Smith '11, Lyle Tolli '10, and Sean Baumann '08 (track). Remmer also was named Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year in rowing.

The athletics department announced its Class of 2008 for induction into the Athletics Hall of Honor on Oct. 10: Julia Civardi '97, volleyball; Bob Cornell, director of athletic communications; Mike Harder '97, ice hockey; Hilary Meyer '99, field hockey and lacrosse; Bobby Newman '96, soccer; John Paske '66, football and track and field; and Ryan Vena '00, football.

Colgate held its first all-sports banquet honoring all 25 varsity sports teams and more than 500 student-athletes, including introducing six major athletic awards: Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Male and Female Rookie of the Year honor, and Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

At the university's annual Awards Convocation, the Howard Hartman Coach-of-the-Year Award was presented to men's soccer coach Erik Ronning and volleyball coach Ryan Baker. The award is given to a coach who has demonstrated the ability to motivate, instill discipline, help build character and perseverance, display resourcefulness, and be adept at teaching the fundamentals of the sport.

Raiders online

Check out, which provides daily information on the Raider program, including schedules, rosters, statistics, and game information, and online ticket ordering, as well as sports video features. You can also call the Raider Sportsline at 315-228-7900 or the ticket office at 315-228-7600.

Top of page
Table of contents
<< Previous: Faculty retirees Next: Books and media >>