The Colgate Scene
July 2008

Alumni awards 2008
Recognizing dedication and service

Maroon Citations were awarded to 15 alumni and staff members. Front row, from left: Eric Cole '93, Amy Satin Spinelli '93, Bob Raiber '68, Gloria (Jean) Brooks, cashier, Sodexho Food Service. Standing, from left: William Johnston '73, Tighe Sullivan '83, Linda Feuss '78, William Caprio '58, Christine Cronin Gallagher '83, Scott Baldwin '58, Alan Glos MA'73, associate dean of the college for administrative advising, Roger Ferlo '73, Kent Kehr '53, Susan Dolly Lathrop '88, and Mark Hamlin '78. [Enlarge] [Photos by Susan Kahn]

During the annual Reunion Awards Ceremony, 22 members of the Colgate community were honored for their contributions to the well-being of alma mater, students, and the world beyond campus.

For more coverage of reunion, including photos, stories, and video, go to

The Wm. Brian Little '64 Alumni Award for Distinguished Service — the highest tribute given to an alumnus — went to Richard Van Cleave III '58 and George Haggarty '63 in appreciation for their longtime participation in Colgate's success.

Haggarty, who as an undergraduate was a fraternity brother of Brian Little (for whom the award is named), served two terms on the Alumni Corporation Board of Directors and was an Alumni Trustee of Colgate from 1993 to 1999. For his distinguished board service, he was voted trustee emeritus in 1999. In his native Detroit, Haggarty is a leader and former officer of the Colgate Club of Detroit, and an active admissions recruiter who interviews selected candidates for the admission office. A Member in Perpetuity of the Presidents' Club, he established the George A. Haggarty Scholarship Fund. His son George Jr. is Colgate Class of '88.

The Humanitarian Award was given to Alisa Del Tufo '78, second from left and flanked by Gus Coldebella '91, Alumni Council vice president, President Rebecca Chopp, and Ron Joyce '73, Alumni Council president. Del Tufo is the founder of CONNECT and Threshold Collaborative, two agencies that work to prevent family violence.

A past member of the Alumni Corporation Board of Directors, Van Cleave chaired the board's athletics committee. He has been a career adviser, participating in career seminars and taking part in Real World, and has served on the Presidents' Club Membership Committee, Planned Giving Committee, Major Gifts Committee, and frequently on his class gift committee as a class agent or chair. He has served as co-chair of his class's reunion gift committee for his 35th, 40th, 45th, and 50th reunions, and this year offered to match the outright and planned gifts of his classmates up to a total of $3 million.

Wm. Brian Little '64 Alumni Award for Distinguished Service recipients George Haggarty '63 (left) and Richard Van Cleave '58 Carrie Keating, professor of psychology, and Stanley Brubaker, professor of political science, received the Alumni Corporation Distinguished Teaching Award. Kelli Wong '03 (left) and Amy Hargrave Leo '03 received the Ann Yao '80 Memorial Young Alumni Award.
Top of page
Table of contents
<< Previous: Commencement 2008 Next: Reunion 2008 >>