The Colgate Scene
July 2007

Honoring service and dedication
Sixteen alumni, staff, and faculty members were presented with Maroon Citations. First row, from left: Terrance Connolly '62, Kimberly Avison Huffard '87, Laura Hoag '97, Lynn Reardon Holcomb '92, associate dean of admission, Allison Rosen '82, and Michael Stagnaro, executive chef. Second row, from left: Leslie Anglada '87, Jeffrey Fager '77, Terry Donahue Egler '77, Gerry Gall, director of publications, and Richard Leonard '52. Third row, from left: G. Peter O'Brien '67, Walter Reichert '57, Larry Bossidy '57, Michael Petersen '77, and Gwendolyn Smith Iloani '77 [Enlarge][Photos by Rob Bennett]

The Alumni Corporation Board of Directors honored 23 members of the Colgate community during its annual Reunion Awards Ceremony on Friday, June 1. Graduates, faculty, and staff were recognized for their contributions to the well-being of alma mater, its students, and even the world beyond campus.

17a 17b
(From left) J. Christopher Clifford '67, Gordon Watson '62, and Jacques Theriot '57 were presented with the Wm. Brian Little `64 Alumni Award for Distinguished Service, the highest honor the Alumni Corporation can bestow upon a Colgate graduate. John Knecht, Russell Colgate Distinguished University Professor of art and art history and film and media studies (left) and Marilyn Thie, director of the Division of University Studies and professor of philosophy and religion and women's studies, were awarded this year's Alumni Corporation Award for Distinguished Teaching.

The Wm. Brian Little '64 Alumni Award for Distinguished Service — the alumni board's highest tribute — went to J. Christopher Clifford '67, Jacques Theriot '57, and Gordon Watson '62 in appreciation for their longtime participation in Colgate's success.

17c 17d
Thomas Tucker '67 was honored with the Alumni Corporation Humanitarian Award. Becky Bye '02 was awarded the Ann Yao '80 Memorial Young Alumni Award.

Clifford, a James B. Colgate Society member, is the newly elected chair of the university's Board of Trustees and one of several hands guiding Passion for the Climb: The Campaign for Colgate. Theriot has been inducted into the James B. Colgate Society as well. He has served on the alumni board, chairing its Nominations Committee, and has maintained contact with students through Real World and the New York City Investment Banking Seminar, which he co-created. Like Theriot, Watson has served on the alumni board and participated in Real World. The Maroon Council president for 20 years, he has been a council member for three decades, all the while defending Colgate's reputation for excellence as a comprehensive liberal arts institution.

You can view complete profiles of all 2007 Reunion Award recipients at

Top of page
Table of contents
<< Previous: A circle of healing Next: Reunion 2007 >>