The Colgate Scene
July 2006

Raider notebook

Hall of Honor 2006

Six former Colgate athletes will enter the Athletic Hall of Honor's Class of 2006: Adonal Foyle '98, basketball; Jennifer Hughes '97, soccer; Martha Kurtz '80, field hockey, lacrosse; Glenn Treichler '48, football, track; Fred von Zuben '63, hockey; and Bob Woodruff '83, lacrosse.

They will be inducted September 22, on the eve of the football game against Monmouth, bringing the membership to 178.

Honors and awards

Women's lacrosse coach Katrina Silva was named the 2006 recipient of the Howard Hartman Award as the university's Coach of the Year. Silva is a first-time recipient of the award, which recognized her accomplishments in leading the Raiders to a second-straight Patriot League championship and NCAA Tournament appearance in 2005. Silva was recognized as the Patriot League Coach of the Year for the second-straight season as she led her team to a second 13-win campaign.

Head men's lacrosse coach Jim Nagle was named the 2006 Patriot League Coach of the Year for the second time in four years. He led Colgate to an 11-4 mark and its first-ever Patriot League regular season title. Five members of the team earned all-league honors: senior Robert Trasolini and junior Colin Hulme were first team, while sophomore Matt Lalli, junior Chris Eck, and first-year Brandon Corp received second-team honors.

Sophomore shortstop LaPorscha Albert was named the Patriot League Softball Player of the Year; first-year designated player/first baseman Ashley Rowe was selected as Rookie of the Year. Joining Albert on the all-Patriot League first team was senior pitcher Kate Howard. The Raiders placed sophomore first baseman Whitney Scott, first-year outfielder Tiana Tyeskey, and first-year utility player Kortney Hannah on the second unit.

Six Colgate players were named to the women's lacrosse all-league squad. Seniors Katie McVeigh, Kelly Winning, and Heidi Ross were named to the first team, while juniors Tara Casey and Kate Metevia, along with first-year Molly Carroll, earned spots on the second team.

Junior Jackie Couture was named the 2006 Patriot League Women's Tennis Player of the Year. Joining Couture on the all-conference team was doubles partner sophomore Alex Seaton, a second-team selection.

Curry Knox was named the Patriot League Rookie of the Meet in track and field. The first-year student captured a gold and silver medal in the 100- and 200-meter dashes, respectively. Senior Lisa Germain, who took first place in the long jump, shared first team honors with Knox, while junior Nicole Christoforo was second team.

Other spring-sport athletes named all-Patriot League were sophomore Ricky Hayes, golf; junior Mike Hanlon, track; junior Chris Innes, men's tennis; and senior Maureen Lynch and junior Lindsey Hochman in women's rowing.

Staying connected

Check out the Colgate athletics website: The website provides daily information on the Raider program including schedules, rosters, statistics and game information. You can also call the Raider Sportsline at 315-228-7900.

Top of page
Table of contents
<< Previous: Sports Next: Sports photos >>