The Colgate Scene
July 2006

Recognizing remarkable service
2006 Alumni Awards
Yvonne C. Taylor '75, founder/president/CEO of One Heart with Africa, was honored with the Alumni Corporation Humanitarian Award. Taylor traveled from Africa to accept the honor. (From left) Joanne Spigner '76, Alumni Corporation Board of Directors president, Taylor, Colgate President Rebecca S. Chopp, and Ron Joyce '73, Alumni Corporation vice president. [Photos by Timothy D. Sofranko]

Twenty-five alumni, faculty, and staff members were honored by the Alumni Corporation in a ceremony in Memorial Chapel on Friday evening as part of Reunion 2006. The awards are presented for service to alma mater, excellence in teaching, exceptional humanitarian service, and loyalty and commitment to Colgate.

Gordon P. Miller '56, Charles G. Carey '76, and Joanne D. Spigner '76 were honored with the Wm. Brian Little '64 Alumni Award for Distinguished Service, the highest honor the Alumni Corporation can bestow upon a graduate. A past member of the Alumni Corporation Board of Directors and chair of its university relations committee, Miller has been a staunch fundraiser for Colgate, and has provided copious career advice to students in several forums. Carey, an emeritus member of the Board of Trustees who left his imprint on many committees, has served Colgate in a multitude of areas, and has been a key support of Raider athletics. Last year he was inducted into the James B. Colgate Society. Spigner has been a tireless volunteer, most recently as president of the Alumni Corporation Board of Directors, creating countless new links between the board and campus, especially students, and has chaired the Women's Advisory Committee for almost a decade. She is a charter member of the Alumnae Leadership Council.

You can read the full citations on all of this year's award winners at

(From left) Charles G. Carey '76, Gordon P. Miller '56, and Joanne D. Spigner '76 were presented with the Wm. Brian Little '64 Alumni Award for Distinguished Service, the highest honor the Alumni Corporation can bestow upon a Colgate graduate. (From left) William J. Sweeney '01, John L. Oros '01, and Yvonne M. Gyimah '01 were honored with the Ann Yao '80 Memorial Young Alumni Award. The award is presented to members of the fifth-year reuning class who have demonstrated remarkable and meritorious service to Colgate. Robert Kraynak, professor of political science and director of the Center for Freedom and Western Civilization (left), and Richard April, Dunham S. Beldon Jr. Professor of geology and natural sciences, were awarded the Alumni Corporation Distinguished Teaching Award. The award is given to members of the faculty who are considered to be outstanding teachers.

Sixteen alumni, staff, and faculty members were presented with Maroon Citations. (From left) Gus P. Coldebella '91, Andrew L. Busser '91, Nancy Campbell Herling '81, Donald F. Martin, director of advancement - capital and planned giving, Ronald Schaupp '56, Donald A. Schaefer '46, Duncan L. Niederauer '81, Robert A. Kindler '76, William H. Freeborn Jr. '76, Robert Cornell, director of athletic communications, Jill Tiefenthaler, professor of economics and director of the Upstate Institute. (Front row, seated and standing, from left) Sarah J. Dyer '91, Tammy Tonucci McConnell '91, Patricia Takas Nozell '81, Pamela Pickert Kindler '76, and Geoffrey A. Gold '86. [Enlarge]
Top of page
Table of contents
<< Previous: Thirsty business Next: Reunion 2006 >>