The Colgate Scene ON-LINE

Tara McGoff '99 was rewarded for delivering the goods all year. The Red Raider hurler was named Patriot League Pitcher of the Year and won MVP honors in the league tournament.



by Robert D. Cornell

On the strength of its four fall Patriot League titles, Colgate won its first-ever women's championship trophy. The Red Raiders finished the campaign with 48 points, besting Bucknell by two points. Colgate won titles in soccer, tennis and volleyball for the second straight year, and won its first field hockey championship.

In the overall competition for the Presidents' Cup, Colgate placed third behind Army and Bucknell. The Cadets secured their third Presidents' Cup with 101 points, while Bucknell had 96 and Colgate 83.5 in the 22-sport race. The Red Raiders were fifth in the men's competition.

Co-recipients of the university's Howard Hartman Award were announced by athletic director Mark Murphy. Sharing the 1997 coach of the year award were head football coach Dick Biddle and head volleyball coach Vicky Chun '91.

Biddle guided Colgate to a remarkable 6-5 turnaround in his first season as head football coach, while Chun led the volleyball squad to a 27-7 record, its second straight Patriot League title, and the school's first-ever NCAA tournament berth.

Seniors Mike Harder, Betsy Cunningham and Jennifer Hughes were named ECAC Merit Medal winners. The award is given to male and female athletes who show dedication to leadership and academic and athletic excellence. Harder capped off a brilliant collegiate hockey career as the Red Raiders' all-time leading scorer, and second team All-America selection. Cunningham was a four-year letter winner in cross country and track and Patriot League cross country champion in 1995. Hughes was one of the finest soccer players to wear the Colgate uniform, ending her career as the school's all-time scorer and the league's Offensive Player of the Year.

Joby Fowler was named the most valuable player in the ECAC lacrosse tournament and was selected a Patriot League scholar-athlete for the spring.
The Patriot League announced that Colgate seniors Joby Fowler and Tom Rusling were spring sport scholar-athletes in lacrosse and tennis, respectively. Fowler, a first team all-Patriot League performer, had a 3.42 grade point average in economics, while Rusling, all-Patriot League in singles and doubles competition, posted a 3.35 G.P.A. in his German major.

Junior Angela Chongris was named to the Brine/Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association All-America third team. Chongris, the Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year, led the Red Raiders to an 11-2 record and the title game of the Patriot League season.

Chongris was joined on the Brine/IWLCA Regional Northeast team by second team selections Kate Manzella (attack), Dulany Reeves (defense) and Hilary Meyer (goalie).

Congratulations to men's lacrosse coach Dan Whelan, who was named Patriot League Coach of the Year, after leading the Red Raiders to an 8-7 mark, including the first win over Cornell since 1964, and a third straight ECAC/ILA title.

Diver Cheryl Meltz '98 was one of only two juniors named to the GTE/CoSida Academic All-District I team. A physics major, Cheryl has a 3.93 grade point average and won a silver medal at the ECAC championships.
Colgate defeated the University of Vermont, 20-15, in the title game of the ECAC/ILA championship, with Joby Fowler taking tournament MVP honors.

A special salute to the softball team, which advanced to the Patriot League title game before losing to Bucknell 4-1 in a 19-inning heartbreaker. Under head coach Katie Flynn '92 the Red Raiders were 22-18. Sophomore pitcher Tara McGoff was named the Patriot League Pitcher of the Year and tournament MVP.


Colgate athletes were widely recognized for their performances this spring.

Women's Lacrosse

Angela Chongris (Patriot League Offensive Player-of-the-Year)

Kate Manzella (Patriot League Co-Rookie-of-the-Year)

Hilary Meyer (goalie)

Dulany Reeves (defense)

Angela Chongris (attack)

Men's Lacrosse

Dan Whelan (Patriot League Coach-of-the-Year)

Joby Fowler (Patriot League Scholar-Athlete for Men's Lacrosse)

(1st Team - All-League)
Joby Fowler (attack)

John Schulze (midfielder)

Brett Tucker (defense)

(2nd Team - All-League)
Matt Mitchell (long-stick midfielder)

Andrew Forchelli (defense)

Mike Fine (goalie)


Tara McGoff - (Patriot League Pitcher-of-the-Year)

Tara McGoff - (Patriot League Tournament co-MVP)

(1st Team - All-League)
Tara McGoff (pitcher)

Melissa Mack (catcher)

(2nd Team - All-League)
Cathy Stimson (outfielder)

Kerry Purvis (third baseman)

Men's Outdoor Track

Dave Kirby (800-meter


Dave Kirby (800-meters)

Chris Ashfield (10,000)

Women's Outdoor Track

Betsy Cunningham (400-meter int. hurdles champion)

Kelly Saunders (javelin


Betsy Cunningham (400 IH)

Kelly Saunders (javelin)

Men's Tennis

Tom Rusling (Patriot League Scholar-Athlete for Men's Tennis)

Tom Rusling (singles, doubles)

B.J. Tucker (doubles)