The Colgate Scene
January 2008

Raider notebook

On Nov. 3 at the annual Silver Puck Award dinner, Colgate President Rebecca Chopp made a special announcement, inaugurating an endowed chair for men's ice hockey. After her introductory remarks, lead donor William Johnston '73 took the podium to proclaim the endowment's official name: the Donald F. Vaughan Endowed Chair for Men's Ice Hockey.

That was news to everyone — including Vaughan, who had the wind knocked out of him for the first time since 1984, when he skated for St. Lawrence. "I was shocked," he said later. "It was completely overwhelming."

The new chair, made possible through the generosity of Johnston and his wife Leslie, as well as Tim Barrows and Peg Flanagan '80, Barbara and Ed Werner '71, P'08, Cecily and Tom Lynett '79, and Nina and David Fialkow '81, will be held by Vaughan, the Raiders' current head coach. Income from the $2 million endowment will fund essential elements of Colgate's top-tier hockey program, from coaching salaries to recruitment and travel expenses.

Colgate's Bob Woodruff '83 headlines a list of seven former college athletes named as the NCAA's Silver Anniversary Award winners. Woodruff was nearly killed in 2006 by a roadside bomb a month after taking over as the co-anchor of ABC's World News Tonight and has been active in fundraising activities for wounded military personnel and traumatic brain injuries since his recovery. A lacrosse player while at Colgate, Woodruff will be honored at a dinner Jan. 13 in Nashville, Tenn.

For the first time since 1966, the men's soccer team participated in the NCAA Tournament. The Raiders, who won the Patriot League title and an automatic berth, lost 2-1 to the University of South Florida in the opening round in Tampa, Fla. Under Erik Ronning '97, John W. Beyer Head Coach for men's soccer, the Raiders finished the season 9-6-5, securing the Patriot League title with a 1-0 win over Lafayette College. Dan Belke '08, who had earlier been named the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year, was named the Most Valuable Player. Eric Anton '08 was the Offensive Player of the Year. Both were named first team all-league, along with Matt Leach '09 and second team honoree David Cappuccio '09.

The women's cross country team had a strong performance this fall. The Raiders finished third in the Patriot League Championship and captured second in the ECAC University Division race in New York City. Stacey Marion '11 became the first rookie runner to capture the Patriot League Individual Championship. She won the runner and rookie of the meet awards. Marion is Colgate's first Patriot League champion since Betsy Cunningham '97 in 1995. Elizabeth Kennedy '08 capped off her career in style with a win at the ECAC Championship. She turned in a time of 18:14 to win the 5K, becoming the first Raider ever to win that race. Kennedy was named to the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Association Division I all-Northeast Region team.

The volleyball team took home three of the five major Patriot League awards after finishing 16-12 during the regular season and 11-3 in the league. The Raiders advanced to the Patriot League championship match before losing to American University. Head Coach Ryan Baker was named the Coach of the Year, while Casey Ritt '11 was voted Rookie of the Year and Jackie Adlam '09 took the co-Defensive Player of the Year title. Katrina Zawojski '09, Adlam, and Ritt were named to the all-league team.

Staying connected

Check out, which provides daily information on the Raider program including schedules, rosters, statistics, and game information, as well as online ticket ordering. You can also call the Raider Sportsline at 315-228-7900 or the ticket office at 315-228-7600.

Top of page
Table of contents
<< Previous: Murphy named Packers chief Next: Sports photos >>